Okemos Board of Education Board Vacancy Committee Meeting Minutes October 17, 2010

Attendees:

Committee Members Deborah Baughman, Amy Crites and Jeff Theuer

Community Attendance Rick Laub, Melanie Lynn, Lynne Page, Steve Pennington

and Shaltreece Reddick

Meeting was called to order at 4:02 p.m.

The following individuals addressed the committee on their behalf: Rick Laub, Melanie Lynn, Lynne Page, Steve Pennington and Shaltreece Reddick.

The committee announced fifteen applicants and indicated that any of these individuals would serve the community well as a school board member: Stephanie Bragg McKay, Patrick Crowley, Damian Fisher, Jessica Fortier-Lick, David Hatch, Robert Howe, John Hyden, Rick Laub, Vivian Leung, Melanie Lynn, Lynne Page, Stephen Pennington, Shaltreece Reddick, William Ruddock and Ethan Segal.

The committee read the name of each applicant, noted their background and discussed implementing an additional step to the appointment process. This step would include developing questions for the finalist to respond to in writing.

Following further dialogue, the committee determined to narrow the applicant pool to six applicants. Finalist include: Rick Laub, Melanie Lynn, Lynne Page, Steve Pennington, Shaltreece Reddick and Ethan Segal.

Community members expressed their appreciation for the opportunity to attend.

The committee will create a memo of recommendation that will be delivered to the board with all applications in preparation of its October 25, 2010 meeting.

The committee adjourned at 5:46 p.m.